Key Documents

The National Curriculum for Computing was published in September 2014 and forms a statutory part of the National Curriculum for maintained schools in England and Wales.


The following materials are designed to provide an additional framework around which you can build your own, personalised scheme of work for Computing.


  • See how we've organised the curriculum into four, intertwining themes:




  • Use our progressive, Computing Capability statements to help guide your pupils through to end of Key Stage expectations:




  • View Theme Overviews for more detail on each of the 4 themes:




Once you're familiar with the materials, take a look at the planning templates and resources pages to begin planning exciting, engaging and relevant experiences for your pupils.


Creative Commons Licence

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
In addition, any organisation wishing to use these materials for training purposes beyond their school must seek the permission of The ICT Service:


Key Documents




  Understanding Technology
  Digital Literacy